Uncategorized

AFTERWORLDS BY SCOTT WESTERFELD

image

So, I started this book a long time ago but then forgot about it or something. But I knew I had to finish it cuz it was just sooo good! Anyway so I re-read it and finished it this morning. Had to do a review right after, am I right??

Author: Scott Westerfeld

Genre: Contemporary/ Paranormal romance

My rating: 90%

Synopsis:
Darcy has put college and everything else on hold to publish her first novel, Afterworlds. Arriving in New York with no apartment or friends she wonders whether she has made the right decision until she falls in with a crowd of other seasoned and fledgling writers who take her under their wings…

Told in alternating chapters is Darcy’s novel, a suspenseful thriller about a teen Lizzie who slips into the ‘Afterworld’ to survive a terrorist attack. But the Afterworld is a place between the living and the dead and as Lizzie drifts between our world and that of the Afterwold, she discovers that many unsolved – and terrifying – stories need to be reconciled. And when a new threat resurfaces, Lizzie’s learns her special gifts may not be enough to protect those she loves and cares about the most…

My review:
I really liked this book!! In fact I found it very unique and definitely worth the endless pages. It was told in a beautiful manner and both the stories blended nicely. Its hard to decide which story was my favorite. While Darcy’s story was a lot more relatable and fun to read (all of the publishing world is really fascinating), I also could not wait to go back into the Afterworld. If I was frustrated with one story then I would remember the other one and what’s going on in it and long fall back in that world. It would take a while to completely shift myself from the publishing story to a paranormal thriller but both were captivating from the beginning. What I actually had issues with were how both of them sort of drew to a close. I knew they were going to end soon but it felt like so much was unresolved. This is a standalone but now I want a sequel. Ughh.. Yaa that part was not satisfying.

Lizzie’s story was kind of weird at first but later, that ‘weird’ turned to ‘different’. You know how it is. If something is unusual, it is unacceptable. But it turned out to be different. This story had a lot to do with old mythologies. My own, in fact, since I am a Hindu. I laughed at some points, was also kind of bored. Lizzie’s story was rushed and unclear towards the ending for me.

Other than that, I loved this book as a whole. Yup.

My next review will probably be Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White.
Bye!!!!!! :mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

