ANDVENTURE · BOOK · YOUNG ADULT

FIRE AND FLOOD BY VICTORIA SCOTT

23555803

I randomly picked up this book when my friend told me that it was kind of like The Hunger Games. What I didn’t expect was that I would like it so  much!!

Author: Victoria Scott

Genre: Thriller/ Sci-fi/ Adventure

My rating: 94%

Synopsis:

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can’t determine what’s wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She’s lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she’s helpless to change anything.
Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It’s an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother’s illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there’s no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can’t trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

My review:

Wow! I definitely loved this book! It was something different yet it somewhat resembled to The Hunger Games and even The Maze Runner. Except that things were much clearer in this one. I think that the book was hilarious, fun, tense, and overall badass. I mean, there are so many things in this book that I wish were real. I NEVER wish that things are real when I am reading a sci-fi thriller. Lol!.

Anyway, I really liked the main character because she was funny as hell, and she did not make me want to strangle her. Not even once. Which is saying something. There were so many typical YA novel moments: someone dies, the main character tries to be a hero by intervening, there is some sort of complicated love plot, ect. But it really depends on the reader if they like these moments or not. I really believed that this was a debut novel until I heard about the Dante Walker trilogy. I will be reading that soon. Okay back to the book.

I did have some (actually just one) issues with this book. The writing was sometimes weird and the writing style was inconsistent. At one point the writing felt lyrical and fantasy-like, and at one point it was all, tell-not-show. You know what I mean? Also, the MC

was extremely funny and sarcastic in the beginning. Like she always had something snappy to say. But later, that attitude dwindled.

All in all, I loved this book! I recommend it to all who have a Hunger Game hangover or just need a good fast paced, hilarious read. Byee! 🙂

Leave a Reply

