BOOK · FANTASY · YOUNG ADULT

THE INFERNAL DEVICES SERIES BOOKCUSSION

So, I just read The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare and DIED…obviously. I had heard from many fans that this series is “so so so good and devastating and beautiful”. Of course, I read it. I finished it last night and thought that “Wow, it is good! Gotta do a review!”. But you know, I really REALLY need to spew my slightly spoilery thoughts out too. So this post ( and probably future posts) will be a review/ discussion.

the-infernal-devices-trilogy

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Historical Fantasy

My rating: 99.5%

Synopsis:

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…


MY REVIEW:

Overall:

I LOVED this series. It was funny, clever, emotional, passionate and heartbreaking. Cassandra Clare, hats off to you. She did an amazing job with this series and succeeded in making this one of my top favorites. I like to think that with every book I am more wiser. I would definitely say that I learnt a lot about love, loss, strength and of course, shadowhunters. I could easily do with a few more books in the series. :p

This is where the spoilers come so if you have not read the books, bye!!!

The characters:

Will was without doubt my fav character but Jem comes a close second. Everything about Will is awesome. His looks, his love for Tessa, his determination, his demon-hunting skills, I could just go on. Yes, I fell for him for sure. At the end of the series I could not bear to say good bye to him!! Of course I was bummed and pissed that he “died” in the epilogue but at least he got to live a full happily-married life. Thats what matters. In the end when he is on his death bed, and he looks at Jem and then at Tessa and smiles and dies, that was the BEST scene ever. I cried so hard.

Tessa was an amazing protagonist. She did not annoy me, she was funny at the right times, she handled the love triangle situation perfectly. Or at lest, Cassie handled it perfectly.

Jem!!! He was just..well, Jem. Kind and sweet and extremely lovable. His character was way to soft to hate even a little bit. Although I love Will, I wanted Tessa to be with him too. God those parts were truly devastating.

The story:

the world and the plot are done beautifully, in my opinion. Cassandra’s books all weave together and are very complex with tons of characters and families. I love that. The demons were, as always, scary and I love how their weapons and demon-hunting techniques are a slightly different in the 1800s.  Cassie again took me by surprise with that epic climax with Mortmain and Ithuriel and the automatons. Just, wow. And of course, typical Cassie Clare humor and jokes were there. It made me laugh sooo much! Overall 5/5 stars

The romance:

Hmmm…I have so much to say but I will keep it short. Maybe just a sentence. Okay. Here goes.

WE FINALLY GOT OUR THREESOME TOGETHER!!!

Well, not really but you know what I mean. Tessa got to be with both of them. A full life with Will and an immortal one with Jem. Though I have not yet read COHF so I don’t know exactly what would happen. I mean, the timelines were too confusing to figure out so…..Yeah.

Alright! I guess thats all I have to say. I could not go into too  much detail cuz its a series but my next review would probably be Throne of Glass so, that should be fun. Byeee!!! 🙂

One thought on “THE INFERNAL DEVICES SERIES BOOKCUSSION

Leave a Reply

