BOOK · FANTASY · PARANORMAL · YOUNG ADULT

THE SOUL THIEF BY MAJANKA VERSTRAETE BOOKCUSSION

I don’t have any pre-announcement so lets just jump straight into the review! :p

c08645d17db776c73247c3101f987be65f7dd46c

Author: Majanka Verstraete

Genre: Young Adult/ Paranormal/ Romance

Source: Netgalley

My rating: 89.99%

Goodreads link

Synopsis:

When sixteen-year-old Riley is injured in a car crash and sees a girl stealing a boy’s soul, she’s convinced she’s hallucinating. But when she sees the same girl at the hospital later, she knows she wasn’t dreaming. That’s when Riley learns her secret heritage and who she really is: a halfling Angel of Death.

Riley must come to terms with her new reality and supernatural abilities, but before she can do this, girls her age start dying in mysterious circumstances. It’s up to Riley to figure out why, what the innocent victims have in common, and what she can do to stop them.


My Review-

In general:

At first, I thought this was just going to be just a typical teenage-y, angels-n-demons, paranormal read. I was so wrong. This story just took a different turn than I expected, though it did resemble some of my favorite books. Initially reminding me of the Existence trilogy by Abbi Glines, this book went for more mystery than romance, with a smidge of Cassandra Clare and a dash of Bloodlines by Richelle Mead. I mean, just wow.

The world, story and characters:

The protagonist has a rough beginning in the book, so we immediately see how she reacts in extreme situations. The first chapter is really fun and explosive and in fact, the entire book is somewhat fast paced for a paranormal read.

So, this was one of those books where the main character finds out about her not being a human and everything. Wish it would happen to me. There is ‘the initial shock’, the usual, ” There is some mistake! I am not what you think I am!”, and so on. But here, the protag fell into this world pretty quickly. It was refreshing and surprising. She was an okay protagonist overall. Not too awesome or too dull. But we do have a set of colorful characters.

The world and the story is easy to get into. Nothing heavy. It was all very simplistic, if you ask me. But then again, we already have a bunch of angels and other things running around. How much more exciting do you want this town to be?

A great book for:

  • A hangover (the bookish kind)
  • Reading slump
  • People who think angels are cool.

#thisismyfifthangelbookandiamnotashamed

Anyway, so this is where it gets spoilery, so consider yourself WARNED.

In depth:

First of all, I had figured out that Katie’s mysterious boyfriend was our villian the second she mentioned him in the first few  chapters. There was some description, and when there is description, there is fore-shadowing. I am pretty sure you figured it out too.

I really thought the relationship between Riley and Cassie was adorable and it reminded of the relationship me and my brother DON’T have. Le sigh. I had also thought that the author would put Cassie in some type of situation. But she didn’t have much of a big role in this book. Hopefully in the next.

I LOVED the friendship dynamic in this book! Usually we have

  • Shy main character with bubbly, outgoing best friend
  • Sassy main character with nerdy guy friend

OR

  • Psycho loner

We NEVER get three best friends and I always love it! Wait, what?

Anyway, in this book, we have Katie- the drama queen, Michelle- the sporty rational one, and Craig-the gay one. How cute.

Now, this romance thing. Is Leander going to be her guy? Why did she not feel the butterflies anymore? Is there going to be a new guy in the next book? Hmmmm.

I liked how Riley’s Grandmother turned out to be a witch. Will she be like, her mentor now? Or something? Lol. The introduction of vampires and demons and the whole restaurant/lunch scene was so good! Loved it.

The ending felt a little stupid. Why is going after him???? Whatever…..

I think that is all, even though I did not exactly discuss in depth. Byeeee!!! 🙂 🙂

One thought on “THE SOUL THIEF BY MAJANKA VERSTRAETE BOOKCUSSION

Leave a Reply

