BOOK · BORDERLINE NEW ADULT · FANTASY · REVIEW · ROMANCE · YOUNG ADULT

A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J MAAS BOOKCUSSION!

I am so blown away right now, I cannot even say…. ahh! I was originally not going to post a review. But I just had to! It was sooooo good! Finished it last night and still cannot get it out of my head. Anyway, here is the bookcussion:

The cover was weird at first but now that I know the significance....I need the next book!!
The cover was weird at first but now that I know the significance….I need the next book!!

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)

Author: Sarah J Maas

Genre: Young Adult/ New Adult | Fantasy | Romance | Fey Lore

My rating: 98.97%, 5/5

Source: eBook

Synopsis:

(Obtained from Goodreads)

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Goodreads link


MY REVIEW

In general –

This book was….perfection. Sarah’s writing, her story, the world she cleverly creates, and finally the blend of fantasy and romance. It was just the first book in a trilogy but I already have a hangover. I can’t stop thinking about it. Let me tell you, this has never happened before. NEVER.

So, Feyre – whose name is pronounced in the weirdest way – goes hunting for her poor, once rich, family. But she accidentally kills a faery and has to pay for it. This feary was one of the men of a High Lord and as compensation, she has to go live with him in his manor. Alone. Yeah, okay. But what about her family? What will this beast (who is quite handsome) do to her? Read and find out! Lol!

So, as I said, this book had everything. Good characters, light and funny parts, tension, romance – to – die – for. I highly, HIGHLY, recommend this book. Just remember that it is a borderline new adult novel. So make sure that you will have no problem with the content. 🙂

The feel and atmosphere of this book was definitely some Beauty and The Beast, Game of Thrones and Fae lore. I had never read a fae book before because I kind of hate them. But I am so glad I tried this one! So much action and emotion!

Okay, her is the in-depth part! SPOILER ALERT!!!

In Depth – 

Ahh! This part is always stumbly and all over the place. It will only be worse for this post! Okay, so first off, my fav parts? Basically, all the parts with Tamlin and pretty much the entire first half of the book. The second half is the best because of all the tension and anticipation. But the first half is lighter in comparison and I enjoyed it. The part where they go swimming in that pool, the part where Feyre call Tam and Lucien pigs and draws their pig-faces! That was so funny I actually laughed out loud! All the dinner table scenes, especially the one where Tam and Feyre are kind of flirting and Lucien is like ” Spare me, Cauldron”. The part when Tam shows Feyre the painting room and gallery! Awww.

The second half of the book was so much intense and I hated Amarantha with a passion. Still do. Glad she is dead. The final showdown was epic. I would not have been able to stab three people in the heart and I DEFINITELY would not remember all the tings about Tam’s heart being stone. Well done, Feyre. Ha! Amaranth’s face when Feyre figures out the riddle. I KNEW that we would get the answer somewhere at the ending, like a big secret reveal. Loved all the tests and was remimded of Throne of Glass.

Finally, the relationship. I was a 100% Tamlin…but now, I really dont know. I wouldn’t exactly mind if she switches to Rhysand. I hated him the moment he made Tamlin beg on his knees. But I really need to know him more before making a decision. Another reason why I need the next book. Sigh….

So, yeah! those are my thoughts. What are yours? Please share! 🙂 Byeeee!


Author Bio:

Click on the pic to get all the links and things! :)
Click on the pic to get all the links and things! 🙂

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

Advertisements

One thought on “A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J MAAS BOOKCUSSION!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s