BOOK · CONTEMPORARY · REVIEW · ROMANCE · YOUNG ADULT

ANYA AND THE SHY GUY BY SUZE WINEGARDENER BOOKCUSSION! + 2 GIVEAWAYS!!!!!

So, I finished this ARC in a day as well! I just can’t stop with this series! I really am loving it!

aatsgTitle: Anya and the Shy Guy (Backstage Pass #4)

Author: Suze Winegardener

Genre: Young Adult/ Contemporary/ RomCom

My rating: 99.8%, 5/5

Source: Publisher in e-ARC format

Synopsis:

It’s always the quiet ones…

Anya Anderson doesn’t just need a big break, she needs any break. Living on the streets doesn’t leave a girl many options, so when she scores a gig reporting on the Seconds to Juliet tour, she jumps at the chance to earn enough money to sleep somewhere safe. And the paycheck will get bigger—and keep her off the streets for good—if she can dig up dirt on Will Fray, the irritatingly hot “shy guy” of the band.

Problem is, Will Fray isn’t who everyone thinks he is. In fact, he’s not Will at all. Matt, Will’s identical twin, is actually the guy onstage, reluctantly covering for his brother while he’s in rehab. To make matters worse, Matt’s being shadowed by a cute reporter with troubled eyes determined to get the scoop. On him. And he’s having trouble finding the willpower to keep his distance…

But if the secret gets out, it won’t just be his head on a platter—it’ll be the whole band’s.

This Entangled Teen Crush book contains steamy make out scenes, graphic language, and a love story so hot your copy may spontaneously burst into flames. You’ve been warned.

Goodreads


MY REVIEW

In general – 

I have so much to say, I don’t know where to start! You would have guessed from my rating that I am officially a fan of this world and these characters and the story. I finished it within 24 hours….do I need an explanation?

I will be slightly (actually, not slightly at all)  comparing this book to Daisy and the Front Man since it was the previous book (and the only other book that I have read in this series) . I definitely liked this one a lot better…so, there is your answer.

Now, on to the actual review, this book is about a homeless girl who lands a job of a reporter to dig up some good dirt on Will Fray, the ‘shy’ member of the ‘oh so good’ boyband, Seconds to Juliet. Did I ever mention that the name is kind of girly?  Anyway, Will Fray is really not him. Its his TWIN brother, Matt Fray. Holy crap. What a scandal. The problem is, can Anya find out about this in between falling for… ‘Will’ ?

Yeah, I loved the synopsis! Its just that… these books have such amazing plots- and yes, there are a lot of amazing plots out there- but these books are contemporary romance. Light, easy reads. These types of book don’t usually have such plots. So I always appreciate a good contemporary, which is rare to the eye.

So, in this joyride, we have a crazy combo. Homeless reporter and the classic, good ol’ twin switcheroo! Those are always fun, right? This one was also slightly less dramatic than Daisy and the Front Man, which I loved. It made  me like the main character even more. She was really relatable, not as funny and goofy as Daisy, but I can roll with it.

This was a lot less cringy and I hardly rolled my eyes! Yay! Since we are comparing, this one was also differently themed. DATFM was centered around revenge and hilarity, this one was more of ‘deception and lies and trust’. Loved it.

Overall, go read it if you haven’t. These books can be read as standalones as well. Just saying. Also, definitely going to read the next and last one! 🙂

GIVEAWAYS!!

June Entangled Teen Book Bag – Includes a coveted ARC of The Revolution of Ivy (http://www.entangledteen.com/entangled-teen-june-book-bag-giveaway/) – Ends 6/30
* 1 print copy of Anya and the Shy Guy by Suze Winegardner (https://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/142587-anya-and-the-shy-guy) – Ends 7/10

SPOILERS ARE APPROACHING!

In depth – 

Okay, where do I start? Fav parts? Mine were probably – first time on the rooftop, the night of the ‘dress’, epic eating contest (ridiculous but it made me HUNGRY. Double points) and of course, the ending, all wrapped up nicely with a bow on top.

I wished they had elaborated on the UNO! part though. Le sigh.

Also, why isn’t LJ fired by now? I bet its going to happen in the last book! Hopefully. That guy causes way too many problems. Ugh. Know what else will happen in the last book? I bet Nathan’s girl is going to be that cover-singing fan who Nathan was watching. Oh wait, I just checked Goodreads and she is the one…Abby. SO EXCITED!!!!

I liked the fact that both main characters had such huge responsibilities. One worng move and they could lose everything. There was something about that vulnerable position that made their love story all the more likable.

I read this light, fluffy read in between heavy studying and it helped release some stress. It would definitely help you take your mind off things. Hmmm…

I feel like anybody can read this. Not in a ‘this is the BEST book ever and everybody on the planet should read it!’ way, but more like in a ‘this a short, sweet book that can make you choke on happiness’ kind of way. Am I right?

Anyway, that would be it. Let me know what you think and as usual, Byeeeee!! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

