BOOK · HISTORICAL · REVIEW · ROMANCE · YOUNG ADULT

SCANDAL’S HEIRESS BY AMELIA SMITH BOOKCUSSION!

So, this review blast was organised by Enchanted Book Promotions and I am so excited to share my thoughts on this one, cuz I have a lot to say!

SH-31Oct13itfont-e1383486137263

Title: Scandal’s Heiress

Author: Amelia Smith

Genre: Historical/ Romance

My rating: 89%, 3.9/5

Synopsis:

Miss Hyacinth Grey has had a quiet life, managing her father’s household in Gibraltar. Then she learns that she’s heir to a small fortune, left by her grandmother, an infamous courtesan. She sets sail for England with plans to found a charitable school for girls. Her father warns her away from her fellow passenger aboard the Whistler, saying that he’s a black sheep from a family of scoundrels.

Thomas Pently, alias Smithson, made his fortune in the East India Company. Then his mistress was murdered, and his aristocratic family summoned him home. He’s now second in line to his uncle’s duchy, after his aging father.

One stormy day, Thomas leaps into the sea to rescue Hyacinth’s young brother. As the storm clears, they kiss on the moonlit decks. Thomas, heartbroken from his lover’s death and wary of his future, makes a half-hearted offer of marriage. Hyacinth refuses.

They meet again in London, where Hyacinth discovers Thomas’s true identity. Her fashion-obsessed aunt reiterates her father’s warning – Thomas can only embroil her in scandal. Thomas’s mother urges him to choose a bride fit for a duke – which Hyacinth most certainly is not. Memories of their shipboard friendship and that stolen kiss draw them together again and again, as they find their footing in an unfamiliar home country.

Goodreads


My Review

In general

I have very mixed feelings about this book. So, I guarantee that this review will be interesting…This story is about a young woman who is trying to manage her quiet little life in her quiet little world. I liked her as a character but I could not form a personal connection to her. Hyacinth has discovered that she has inherited a small fortune left by her ‘not so socially acceptable’ grandmother.

Our other main character, Thomas was a lot more fun than her (no offence, Hyacinth). He has lived half his life in India and is now returning home due to some circumstances. Romance sparks and BAM! We have a historical love story!

This book was interesting enough, but it did not have that extra ‘something’ in it. I really don’t know what it is. Action? No. Humor? No. I can’t pinpoint it, but something seemed off about this story. Weird. Then again, its probably just me.

The general atmosphere of the book was gloomy and I really liked it. It went with the story. We also had a set of interesting characters. Since this was an adult book, we dont really have teenage-ey conversations going around. Again, went with the story.

Well, it looks like I have only been bitching about this book. There are some aspects that I actually loved. The romance, for one. I loved the slooowww burning romance. I really expected the usual ‘alpha male and damsel in distress, bodice and top hats, love at first sight’ type of nonsense. But that was totally not the case and I loved that!

Anyways, if you like historical romances…this would only be a light read. If you don’t, this book would be a nice start.

Wow. That was my review….in general. Keep reading to go up close and personal! Spoilers ahead!

In Depth – 

Okay! This part would probably be short and sweet.

First off, can you say, Titanic? OMG, the Titanic vibes I was getting from this book were intense! I don’t really know why, cuz its not exactly like Titanic…but still.

Just needed to get that out of the way.

My favorite parts have to be the ball and the horse riding. There weren’t many scenes that I adored but that’s okay. I also loved it when Thomas shows up at Hyacinth’s house at Lindley! That was a cute reunion! I also really like the whole ‘I am from India’ thing. They never really divulge in these aspects in other historical novels.

I hated the Flashy Aunt! Thats her name now. I was disappointed she did not DIE in the ending. My alternate ending would have been that she tried to kill Thomas and Hyacinth stabbed her in the back. Yeah, I really hate her.

George was the cutest thing ever! I want an adrenaline-junkie brother like that. On second thought, not having him would be better. Lol! Anyway, another thing that I did not particularly like was that they dragged on the inheritance thing way too much. I was bored in some of those parts. In fact, in terms of getting bored, the story went up and down a lot. At one point, I was crazy excited about something and then later, there was a not-too-exciting filler scene. Hmmm…

Overall, I liked this book but would not highly, highly recommend to just anyone.

Well, that is all. Let me know what you thought about it! Byeee


Author:

authorphoto400sq

Review blast organised by:

Enchanted Book Promotions

Leave a Reply

