ADULT · BLOG TOUR · BOOK · FANTASY · MYSTERY · PARANORMAL · REVIEW · THRILLLER

AT DEATH’S DOOR BY ASTRID V. TALLAKSEN BOOKCUSSION!

Another book review for a blog tour! This time the tour is organised by Enchanted Book Promotions and the two book, deluxe tour is for the Freefall series! Hope you enjoy!

unnamed (1)

I will be reviewing book 1 today and the second book will be reviewed next week along with an interview with the author! Whoop whoop! 😀

unnamed (3)

Title: At Death’s Door (Freefall #1)

Author: Astrid V. Tallaksen

Genre: Paranormal/ Romance

My rating: 90%, 4.5/5

Source: Enchanted Book Promotions

Synopsis:

The world is a pretty straightforward place. Even for medium Sara Stone things seem pretty simple, aside from the whole talking to spirits bit. But when the spirits get too hard to handle and Sara ends up admitted to a mental hospital, the world starts to seem a lot less straightforward. First her family disappears, including her four year old son. Then she gets the sneaking suspicion that not only are the staff at the mental hospital somehow connected, but they also have no intention of ever letting her leave the hospital.
Everything changes when Sara has her first visitor in three months. Daniel is handsome, friendly, and a complete stranger. When he promises to spring her from the hospital and swears that everything she’s experienced is completely real, Sara has no choice but to believe him. But once she reaches a run-down Victorian house in the tiny Alabama town her rescuer calls home, the last thing she expects to discover is that every memory she has is a lie.
Daniel reveals a world filled with angels, demons, and an impending war humans know nothing about. Sara wants to ignore her role in the whole mess – all that matters is solving the mystery of where her son has gone. But the forces of Heaven, Hell, and the Heart have other plans for her. Can she find her child before the world comes crashing down?

Goodreads


MY REVIEW

In general – 

You guys have no idea how skeptical I was of this book! I was seriously convinced that I was going to hate it and it will be another stupid fantasy novel that I never give another thought, ever again. I was very wrong! I would be lying if I said I did not like it. In fact, I was quite impressed by how this story was woven which was very intriguing. See, this is why I try to read an adult novel once in a while. I get so used to the usual YA world, its fun going out of my comfort zone.

Yeah…those were my initial thoughts. But, this book is about a young woman who ends up in a mental hospital because she sees ‘ghosts’. She doesn’t know where her son is, her parents are all but wiped off the face of the earth and there is a man trying to help her. Wow. Stuff goes down and things happen. That’s pretty much all you need to know.

Let me just say that this book did not go the way I expected it to go. Again, perk of reading an adult novel for once. But I should warn you that this is your typical angel/demon book. I recognized some references and names. Just saying.

This book was also very short and fast to read so I would also place it under the fast-paced, book-hangover-curing, really-weird-plot twist-holding, romantic reads. Plus it was really funny and sarcastic at times, and along with great, edge-of-your seat romance, this book was a winner!

My favorite character has to be Sara. Duh. I absolutely LOVE Daniel and cannot wait to read the next book and reviewing it as well! 🙂 I mean, that ending, though….:P

Author:

unnamed (2)

Author links:


Buy links:

Amazon | BN | Kobo | iBooks | Scribd | Page Foundry

Tour organised by:

Enchanted Book Promotions 

One thought on “AT DEATH’S DOOR BY ASTRID V. TALLAKSEN BOOKCUSSION!

Leave a Reply

