Uncategorized

THE BLACK LOTUS BY CLAIR WARNER REVIEW!!!

Heyyy!! So this review is going to be short and sweet as it has been a long time since I finished this book and hence, would not be able go in-depth.

Black_Lotus__Night_Flower_(Volume_1),_The_-_Claire_Warner

Title: The Black Lotus (Night Flower #1)

Author: Clair Warner

Genre: Historical/ Paranormal/ Romance

My rating: 85%, 3/5

Source: Enchanted Book Promotions

Synopsis:

….though I would dearly love to play court to you, I would hurt you more than any other.

It is 1752.
The year that will change the life of heiress Melissa De Vire. As she makes her first fumbling steps into society, she meets the handsome young cad Justin Lestrade and his world tears her perceptions apart. For Justin is more than he appears and his secrets and enemies are manifold. Drawn irresistibly to him, she finds herself sinking into a realm of feuds, magic and old curses and her life will never again be the same.

Goodreads


MY REVIEW

I have quite mixed feelings about this book. To give you an overview about the plot, its set in a historical society where there is a lot shady business going on in the background. This book set up a very tense mood along with some really nice romance. See, I am not very picky when it comes to romance; I like all types of romantic situations. This story also was kind of hinting at vampirism. Yeah, I have to be vague. Thats cuz its best to go into this book without knowing much.

We are reading in third person, that means we get access to all the “shady business” mentioned earlier. Don’t you hate it when you only know what the main character knows? Anyway, there are multiple points of views. So, that was good. The characters were very intriguing for me (especially a certain someone) in the beginning but later, my interest in them fell apart….like a house of cards. You know, like I started hating one character, which led me to hate all the characters.  Hehe.

The story was….i dont the right word but somewhere along the lines of…draining. It kept building up and up and….ughh. I dont know. It was weird. Not a story I will be continuing for sure. I drastically lost interest halfway through. I would encourage you to read it…but it will not be a fun, fast, mindblowing read.

That is all I wanted to say. Hope you enjoyed! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

