Uncategorized

THE BOOK COVER GUESSING CHALLENGE!! TAG #4

I warned you that I will be back with another tag today! So, here I am. This is more of a challenge really. It was created over at Trey Schnarr Books so go check it out! However I saw this at Head In The Clouds, Heart In The Books and was itching to do it myself!

untitled1

So what to actually do here? Well, you pick a bunch of books that you know nothing about and try to guess their plot by their covers! The books have to be such that you have seen them around and when you are done guessing, you go to Le Goodreads and see how you have done. If this was confusing just keep reading. I am sure you will get it.

I have chosen 5 books from my recommendations on Goodreads.


$$ 1. $$

UNWIND BY NEAL SHUSTERMAN

unwind

My Guess –

With that spooky cover, I think the genre is paranormal/ thriller. There is some amount of sci-fi involved where we find the killer/ whoever-the-antagonist-is by hand prints (advanced technology). The main character is an ordinary person who is suddenly dragged into this mess of things and he/she has to save everyone.

What Goodreads Said – 

Connor, Risa, and Lev are running for their lives.

The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child “unwound,” whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state, is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive.

Well, that was wayyyy off. Ugh. 0%

$$ 2. $$

ENCLAVE BY ANN AGUIRRE

7137327

My Guess – 

Another dark, gritty novel with badass characters and lots of killing. Set in a dystopian world, I believe. Some crazy government system that needs MAJOR fixing. A teen and/or a bunch of teens set out on an awesome, epic mission.

What Goodreads Said – 

New York City residents, decimated by war and plague, live underground in Enclaves, barely past age 20. Deuce 15, trained as Huntress, pairs with odd Fade, who was boy Topside. Elders ignore warning, exile both. Monster Freaks, more organized, killed nearest Enclave. Guided by old memories, in gang-infested ruins, pair face apocalyptic world with new dangers and feelings.

Ha! Was pretty on-point with that one!! Score! 90%

$$ 3. $$

PARTIALS BY DAN WELLS

Partials-cover1

My Guess –

Another, post-apocalyptic, sci-fi novel. Where people are half human, half something weird. The main girl falls for a guy who is like her and together, they REBEL!!! Yay!!

What Goodreads Said – 

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war’s origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one’s own point of view.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Okay, so this is more of a survival story. But still, I got some things down. So…yeah, 50%.

$$ 4. $$

THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE BY JANDI NELSON

220px-The_Sky_is_Everywhere

My Guess – 

A cute contemporary. A boy, who has some sort of problem and either mommy or daddy issues. The girl, who is falling for him and doesn’t want to. And there a significance of a pink heart somewhere??  Overall, sweet and emotional and moving.

What Goodreads Said – 

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Oh my God, that was ALL WRONG! There is a love triangle and family loss and no heart significance! Damn it!! 0%

$$ 5. $$

MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES BY JASMINE WARGA

highresmhaobhcover

My Guess – 

One of those serious contemporaries that feature a troubled teen and how she finally found her way to happiness. A sweet love interest and a slow romance. Coming of age.

What Goodreads Said – 

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.

There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution: a teen boy with the username FrozenRobot (aka Roman) who’s haunted by a family tragedy is looking for a partner.

Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together. Except that Roman may not be so easy to convince.

Okay, so not completely accurate. I did not say its about two teens wanting to kill themselves. But I was right about the “troubled” part AND about the slow romance part! So, again 50%.


WOW. This was exhilarating. Its tougher than it looks guys. So that is why I challenge you to do this! I specifically tag:

Aisha at InkWellOfWords

Prima at Panda Hearts Books

Fiona at A Girl Between The Pages

Renzi at Books In My Vein

Theepika at Its Theepika

Lastly, all those of you that enjoyed seeing me fail big time!

Bye!!!! 🙂

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “THE BOOK COVER GUESSING CHALLENGE!! TAG #4

  1. Haha, I loved your Enclave guess! Bad government + kids on an epic adventure to defeat the bad government = DYSTOPIA! 😄 LOL, with The Sky is Everywhere THERE SHOULD BE SOME SIGNIFICANCE IN THE HEART.
    This was so much fun to read! I loved your guesses!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you!!! And, isn’t that what Dystopians usually consist of? 😜
    Also, yes I was very upset about no signicance in heart. Someone should fix that.
    So glad you enjoyed!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for tagging me! I will schedule my post for this, so sorry if it appears kind of late. I am just going to be very busy for the next few months because of exams, so if you don’t see it for a month or so that is the reason why. I have already done it though and it is SO MUCH FUN!

    Like

    1. I KNOW RIGHT!! I seriously thought it would be a piece of cake. Soo wrong. And don’t worry, take your time….exams are a problem I definitely understand! 😜🙌

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s