Uncategorized

THE BODY INSTITUTE BY CAROL RIGGS BOOKCUSSION!

Yay! Finally a review! Its been like, a million years! 🙂 Today, I will review a book sent by Entangled Publishing. I just love that publishing house!

21466668

Title: The Body Institute

Author: Carol Riggs

Genre: Young Adult/ Futuristic/ Sci-fi

My rating: 91.11%, 4.23/5

Source: Publisher through Netgalley.

Synopsis:

Meet Morgan Dey, one of the top teen Reducers at The Body Institute.

Thanks to cutting-edge technology, Morgan can temporarily take over another girl’s body, get her in shape, and then return to her own body—leaving her client slimmer, more toned, and feeling great. Only there are a few catches…

For one, Morgan won’t remember what happens in her “Loaner” body. Once she’s done, she won’t recall walks with her new friend Matt, conversations with the super-cute Reducer she’s been text-flirting with, or the uneasy feeling she has that the director of The Body Institute is hiding something. Still, it’s all worth it in the name of science. Until the glitches start…

Suddenly, residual memories from her Loaner are cropping up in Morgan’s mind. She’s feeling less like herself and more like someone else. And when protests from an anti–Body Institute organization threaten her safety, she’ll have to decide if being a Reducer is worth the cost of her body and soul…

add to goodreads black


Capture

In general – 

Ahh!! Loved this book so much! It had so many elements in it so that it was the perfect mixture. This was a fast read and I am sure you could finish it in a day. The best thing about this book was the plot. In fact, I was initially drawn towards reading this book because of that very reason. The book is set in a dystopian world (though it doesn’t feel dytopian, just maybe a decade ahead of us) where health and fitness is valued a lot. People who are overweight are social outcasts and they have to pay some stupid fines for being FAT. Yeah….anyway, because of advanced tech, an organisation known as The Body Institute was started.

An overweight person who wants to reduce and get healthy, would loan his or her body to a physically fit person by some brain mapping mojo and the reducer would give the body back in top shape! Cool right? No. Not really. Along with having an awesome plot, this book was terrifying because we have the main character as a Reducer and she is living in another girl’s body and things start happening and it was so SCARY! This book legit kept me on the edge of my seat the WHOLE time! I was actually feeling, worrying and relating to the characters.

Yes, there were some negative things about the book as well. It got a little slow and draggy at parts, but it was very rare. The main character wasn’t really badass and headstrong, but that’s why I liked her more. Not as a role model, but as a human, a friend, an ordinary girl who DOESN’T become “the chosen one” or some crap. Lets face it, that is the prime plot of any novel. The ending was a bit anticlimactic. One of those endings where things come to a close slowly. Not exactly a big boom. Sigh.

This book touched some really important topics, such as, body image issues, health issues, is it really worth it to sacrifice a chuck of your life to get thin just because the society wants that? It made me think and I can say that I never gave these things a thought before, but if we had the technology which they do in the book, our world would be seriously screwed.

All in all, despite the ending, and the slow parts, this book is definitely worth it. Along with some cute romance, this story would appeal to sci-fi lovers and any person who has body image issues. Thats it. Now, going in-depth…

carol riggs

SPOILERS ARE APPROACHING. BEWARE. 

In dept –

Lets start from the beginning. We meet our quirky, fun, protag and I immediately liked her. Morgan Dey was fun to hang out with. Too bad we did not see her in the rest of the book!

Jodine and her miserable life’s intro was the part where I got a little bored and decided to pick up a few other books. But today, I was determined to finish it and unexpectedly fell in love! 🙂

I KNEW that Superguy was Matt and I did have my doubts, but when we met Matt I had a feeling that either this would end up as a love triangle or he would turn out to be Superguy. Both options seemed a little cheesy. But I was so glad that I was right! Lol. I loved how they called each other weird names. Miss Fitness, Park Girl, my favorite being, Geekling! <3. Did anyone else thought about the awkwardness that she is like 5-6 years older than him?

LEO. Lets talk about that asshole. Who does he think he is?! I wanted him to go through  much more than he did in the ending. I don’t know why Morgan did it, but I would not keep listening to him over and over again. Ugh..He should have a sign that says, Do not trust me.

This book was not action-packed. There wasn’t much killing or kickassery. Which would explain the anticlimactic feel, I guess.

I loved the ending when she meets her Granddad. It was the most touching thing and I am glad it was the closing scene.

Thats all. Sorry, I would have discussed more but I didn’t make notes for this one. So….yeah. Let me know what you think. Comment and we can chat more! 🙂 Bye!!!

Leave a Reply

