BLOGGING · BOOK · BOOK BLOGGING · FANTASY · PARANORMAL · REVIEW · ROMANCE · YOUNG ADULT

THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN BY HOLLY BLACK BOOKCUSSION!!!

Yeah! I finally read a book not for review! Well, I guess I am reviewing this book, but I did read it for pleasure!

12813630

Title: The Coldest Girl In Coldtown

Author: Holly Black

Genre: Young Adult/ Paranormal/ Romance

My rating: 98%, 5/5

Source: eBook

Synopsis:

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a wholly original story of rage and revenge, of guilt and horror, and of love and loathing from bestselling and acclaimed author Holly Black.

add to goodreads black


Capture

In General – 

Gahhhh!! I have been wanting to read a Holly Black book for far too long and now that I have read one, I NEED MORE. Obviously, I loved this book and I think everyone should read it. It has been a while since my vampire days and this book brought me right back to them!

This book is set in an alternate world where people know vampires exist and they are confined to these places called “coldtowns” where they live and cannot come out. Our protag, Tana is a human but under bizzare circumstances, she comes to a coldtown with her ex and a vampire. Awkward. Anyway, the only word I can use to describe the whole book is….psychotic. Just psychotic. The world is twisted and weird, there is sooo much blood and gore, the characters just seem plain crazy, this book is very intense, unpredictable, upside down, sporadic…..psychotic.

And I am SO glad I picked this one up. I sometimes really enjoy that really twisted up novel that is so weird, you have no idea how to feel after finishing it. The characters in this book were not what you would call sane. Nobody is annoying, exactly, but the odd group of people Holly Black has introduced to us in this book is very intriguing.

If you want to read this book, I highly encourage you to do so. Also, this IS  a standalone. And it was completely satisfying. It left the perfect amount of mystery and closure. Loved that.

The romance in this book was really enjoyable but scary. It was most definitely NOT like Twilight, where the girl is not even the slightest bit afraid of the vampire. It was much better. I have always been curious about how Holly Black does romance and I am not disappointed!

Lastly, I loved loved loved this book even though it took me a week. I should warn you, Holly Black’s writing, while decent, goes a little slow at times and then brings you back in. That was a teeny tiny downside. Otherwise I would have given this book a 100%. Everybody, read it. Like, now. Also, going to hunt for The Darkest Part Of The Forest now! 😛

SPOILERS APPROACHING!!! 

In depth – 

EEEk!! Where do I start? Okay, from the beginning, I guess. The post-party scenario was creepy as hell. And when we see Aidan and Gavriel tied up and scary-looking, I ALMOST lost it. That’s when I realized that this book features real, bloodthirsty vampires and not sweet, good-looking, make-me-fall-in-love-with-you vampires. Thank God.

This book had an amazing set of characters. I mean, it was a stand-alone vampire novel. It needed something to make it unique. The writing and the the way the characters reacted and said stuff and did stuff really set this story aside from all others. Will never forget it.

My favorite character was definitely Gavriel. That guy has been through so much and he still hasn’t lost his humanity, his softness. I absolutely loved his backstory about his sister and his girlfriend. Sigh. Though he was pretty weird sometimes as well. Then again, most people in this book were. Especially Aiden. Like, what is that dude’s problem?! Ya, he was one of the good guys in the ending, but I still do not like him. If fact, I have very mixed feelings about him. Tana was likeable enough and badass enough. I know I would not have survived in this book at all. But she did. #impressed

The plot twist about Gavriel being the Spider was unexpected. Did you figure it out? I know I didn’t. I thought the whole scene was pretty dramatic rather than action-packed. The party scene on the other hand…phew. But the little twists, like the betrayal by Midnight and Aidan was totally expected. Uggh hate them so much.

I liked the format of this book a lot. It was one chapter-main story and next chapter-flashback. Though it was hard to keep up with it sometimes. Holly’s writing is amazing but I felt I was just reading the words at times. But that could be my laziness and nothing else 😛

I LOVED the ending when Gavriel shows up and decides to stay with Tana forever. Awww. I was smiling so hard! 🙂 Perfect amount of satisfaction and mystery just like I said before.

Anyway, I think that is it! Hope you enjoyed! (both the book and my post) !!

Byee!!!

Leave a Reply

