BLOGGING · BOOK · BOOK BLOGGING · COMEDY · CONTEMPORARY · FICTION · NOVEL · REVIEW · ROMANCE · YOUNG ADULT

FINDING AUDREY BY SOPHIE KINSELLA BOOKCUSSION!!!

So I read this book for the WordsandGirls book club read along at Goodreads. Its a fairly new group and you guys should definitely join in! 🙂

71VAAthQU-L

Title: Finding Audrey

Author: Sophie Kinsella

Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary | Comedy | Romance

My rating: 99%, 5/5

Source: Ebook

Synopsis:

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

add to goodreads black


Capture

In general –

Okay, so I obviously loved this book! And I recommend it to everyone on this planet! Sophie Kinsella did not let me down. I am a big fan of her adult novels and I admit, I was skeptical going into this book, thinking that she might not have handled young adult well. Nope. I think she did a pretty good job and…. its impressive.Going from adult, chick-lit, comedy novels to young adult, contemporary, mental issue type of novel. So, Sophie, hats off.

So this book is about a girl named Audrey (ya, like we did not figure that out) and she has social and anxiety disorder. She is dealing with eye-contact so she has to wear dark glasses all the time.

That’s really all I can say about the plot. Its very coming of age and if you start reading it, the story kind of unfurls itself. So I don’t wanna give too much away. Trust me, its more fun when you wouldn’t know what to expect. But I will tell you that it was definitely worth the read, definitely worth my time and you should pick this up like, right now.

This book had Sophie’s signature lovable characters, her satirical comedic circumstances and a really cute romance! You will not be dissapointed. If you have not read any of her books, you might wanna start with this one and slowly move to her adult novels. They are (in my opinion) better. I guess thats cuz that is the genre she is more comfortable writing in.

Anyway, I totally loved it and I am sad its over now. You just kind of fly through it. Very easy-to-read. And now I will be going deeper, so SPOILERS APPROACHING!!

In depth –

Okay, so at first, like I said, I all skeptical about this book because I was just, “I don’t know how I am going to relate to this!”, as Audrey is 2 years younger than me. Then I realized that its so stupid to think that way!

I thought Audrey looked pretty badass with her dark glasses and vest-y shirts and jeans. #sogansta. I now have a strong craving to wear dark aviators as well. Le sigh…

Anyway, so we never really got a full length explanation about what happened to her that caused her “condition” but I guess it a lot of bullying and verbal abuse. Probably. Man, kids can be cruel. I don’t know how I feel about the fact that they are completely subdued now. I thought mean girls will remain mean. Meh, whatever.

My fav parts in the book were when Audrey and Linus first have a real conversation and the note-passing. That was so adorable! Felix was just the cutest thing ever and I want him. It felt touching when Audrey took off her glasses when she was with him. Aww. I thoroughly enjoyed all the parts with Frank and his mom where she would catch him and the way Frank reacted to her. I felt kind of repetitive, but entertaining.

Audrey’s mom is one that I didn’t like. She was kind of a pushy, high maintenance, hypocrite. Yup, that sums her up. Lol. But really, she was annoying and just rubbed me the wrong way. But, even she learned her lesson in the end…so, yeah. But the scene with her birthday…yeah, classic Sophie Kinsella situation. I was cracking up so hard!

So when it comes to Frank, I didn’t understand how the whole book was based on him and his computer addiction, cuz it just felt weird. Frank and his mom went back and forth so much. At the end, I just wanted one of them give up. Like, please, stop! Lol.

Anyway, I LOVED this book, the story, the romance between Audrey and Linus, and even Dr. Sarah. Yes, even the very awkward restaurant dares Linus gave Audrey. So kawaai. ^_^

Byeee!!!!

2 thoughts on “FINDING AUDREY BY SOPHIE KINSELLA BOOKCUSSION!!!

Leave a Reply

