BLOGGING · BOOK · BOOK BLOGGING · FANTASY · FICTION · REVIEW · ROMANCE · YOUNG ADULT

CURSE OF THE SPHINX BY RAYE WAGNER REVIEW!!!

I have received this eBook from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

25905676

Title: Curse of The Sphinx (Sphinx #1)

Author: Raye Wagner

Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Greek Mythology | Romance

My rating: 92%, 4.33/5

Source: Netgalley

Synopsis:

How long can a monster stay hidden in plain sight?
Seventeen year-old Hope Nicholas has spent her entire life on the run. But no one is chasing her. In fact, no one even knows she exists. With her mom, she’s traveled from town to town and school to school, barely staying long enough to meet anyone, let alone make friends. And she’ll have to keep it that way.
It’s safer.
When her mother is brutally ripped away from her, Hope’s life shatters. Is this the fulfillment of Apollo’s curse? Is Hope, too, being hunted? Orphaned and alone, Hope flees again, but this time there’s no one to teach her who to trust—or how to love.
Set in a universe where mythology is alive and well in the modern world, Curse of the Sphinx irresistibly blends action, suspense and romance. Curse of the Sphinx is the first book in the young-adult Sphinx saga.

add to goodreads black


Capture

In general –

OMG. I flew through this book! Highly recommended if you love Greek mythology. And even if you don’t, this story will be all the more interesting! I really thought this was a standalone but its not. I am glad. Though we don’t know about the sequels as of now. 😦

So this book is about sphinx. If you dont know what they are, they are creatures from the Greek mythology. The ones that trick people and then eat them and were in turn, tricked by that one guy who was just so awesome. (Clearly, I need to brush up on my Greekology. Percy, here I come!). Though, this is centered around Hope, a young sphinx who has to stay in hiding. I really feel like not giving anything away. I went into it not at all knowing what is it about and I loved this book.

I feel like this is the type of series I should just marathon. Very easy to read, fun, cute, Greek! It was a little weird at times-the writing and stuff- and also when the balance between the fantasy world and the real world was…well, unbalanced.

I felt some real feels while reading this book. All the things that Hope goes through, I felt very connected to her. I loved that. When something tragic happens in YA, usually I am just like, ” Well, that was sad, but this does happen in almost every book.”
This time though, it felt painful. Yes,this book was a roller coaster for me.

My fav characters are in this order:

Athan

Haley

Hope

There is some really cute romance in this book. Mixed in with some good old, high school drama, this book almost felt like a contemporary.

So excited for the next book. I need it now!!! #readerproblems

This review was a little boring but…hey! I am busy!! Lol. Bye!!!!!

4 thoughts on “CURSE OF THE SPHINX BY RAYE WAGNER REVIEW!!!

  1. I am so happy to have read your post, it was such an amazing read, one which I enjoyed very much! I have had time to check out your blog and I have to say I loved it! So keep writing so I can keep looking forward to reading your work! (:
    Also this book looks incredible!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

