ACTION · ANDVENTURE · BLOGGING · BOOK · BOOK BLOGGING · BOOKCUSSION · FANTASY · FICTION · REVIEW · YOUNG ADULT

FAITH AND MOONLIGHT BY JOE KING, MARK GELINEAU REIVEW!!!

Hello!! This post is way overdue. But I finally did it! 🙂

Faith and Moonlight - Ebook 1333 x 2000.jpg

Title: Faith and Moonlight (An Echo of the Ascended novella)

Author: Joe King, Mark Gelineau

Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult

Source: eBook from the author

My rating: 88.88%, 4.2/5

Synopsis:

Roan and Kay are orphans.

A fire takes their home, taking what little they had and ending the only life they’ve known. But during the fire, they save the life of an old Acolyte of Talan who gives them one chance to change their lives. One chance to gain entry into one of the great Razor Schools of Resa.

The School of Faith.

Beyond its hallowed gates, lie wonders and secrets they’ve never imagined, as magic pulses all around them. They are desperate to join the friends they meet there, but have only one month to earn entry.

As Roan excels, Kay struggles, and it becomes clear they won’t both pass the test.

They promised one another they would stay together, but is Kay willing to let Roan leave the life he was meant to have?
Does she even have a choice?

add to goodreads black


Capture

Ahh! This was a fresh, fast read. I really don’t have much to say. See, the thing is, I have been reading too much of this genre these days. A fantasy world, kids trying to make their way through it all, politics, magic school, amusing friends, etc. And it’s not getting old for me. 😛

I literally had to sit down, open up my eReader and start reading. Before I knew it, I was done. So, yeah. This one is a quick read and you will definitely fly through it. The authors are releasing each novella set in this world one by one, which I think is smart. I mean, you are giving short bursts of stories little by little. Like candy. Anyway, this book. We have two main protags. Roan and Kay. We don’t really get much backstory but since it is a novella…. well, these two have lost everything and their last hope is to get into this school as full-fledged students.

In my opinion, the story was progressing great but the characters remained a bit static. I wish to see more development later on. I felt that these 14 year olds really held their own charm and I would love to see them grow. 🙂

There are more stories from this world, which I will be reading reviewing here! I think the best part about this book was the world-building. The writing and the descriptions was really simple and you know… not too crazy. I feel like anyone can get into this book and love it. So, yes! I will be leaving links below and I encourage you to check out this book and series. 😀


 

LINKS AND THINGS:

Buy link | Website Facebook | Twitter Mailing List
Amazon Author Pages:
Mark Gelineau | Joe King


 

Author Bios: 

Mark and Joe have been writing and telling stories together for the last 25 years. They share a love for the classic fantasy tales of their childhood. Their Echoes of the Ascended series brings those old epic characters and worlds to new life.

 

Leave a Reply

